• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows XP... SP1 worth installing?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IR1

Title says it all should I install SP1... right now I am not having any problems with my computer. But I want to know are there any real benefits to install sp1? I dont think I want to but maybe you guys can tell me why I should.

nahmus said:
I have SP1 on all of my XP boxes and I've had nothing but smooth sailing.

Yeah same here. I have had plenty of experience running sp1 on several boxes at home plus countless at work. Its a safe upgrade.

besta grab it, resolve those security flaws, especially the one where someone can wipe out your whole drive with a click of a html link.

if M$ ever released a "complete" OS the first time, there would never be a need for all these damn service packs. alas, they are fallible programmers pushed by dollars and deadlines instead of efficiency and quality... anyway, install it... ; )

Whats this?? A day without a Critical Update, I knew today was going to be a good day.

I never get critical updates on my Linux box, it was free and no one hacks at that and they don't threaten to put me in jail for making backup copies of my legal software.

Do you guys have the original SP1, or the new SP1a?

I have the original SP1 saved so when I format I can reinstall it.

Whats the diff between the 2?

^^^ There is no difference really. If you have one, you dont need the other.

Btw, you saved the sp1, you didnt know that you can integrate sp1 into a copy of windows xp?