• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Barton 2500 - unlocked?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bArrin

Registered
Recently i bought a new cpu, an AMD AtlhonXP 2500+ (Barton)

I've been browsing the forums, and everywhere I look it says that the bartons are factory unlocked.... But... (im kinda new to this, so bear with me and pls correct if im totally way off =) my cpu doesnt seem to be unlocked (unlocked means that u can change the multiplier in the BIOS, right?)

my mb (which is a MSI K7N2 with the latest bios-drivers) lets me select fsb up to 200, but this is not stable at all, any idea of how, if possible, i can make it stable? (my vcore can only go to 1.800)

in bios, i can only select multipliers from x7 to x13, but if i change the setting from ANYTHING else than use H/W settings, my cpu clock drops down to MAX 1100MHz :eek: (at 13x, and it was about 900MHz at 10x....) which is not fun.....

the exact numbers on my cpu are as follows:

AMD Athlon
AXDA2500KV4D 9770188241234
AQXEA 0327VPMW

is this a good cpu for oc'ing? (if i can manage to unlock it...)
any ideas of how to unlock it?

it is coated in some fashion, but the L1 bridges do seem to be intact.. ( i havnt got a magnifying glass handy, but they look fine..) can it be my mobo that keeps me from changing the multiplier?

any and all responses welcomed

thx

/bArrin

Last edited:
i have updated to the latest bios for the mobo

and the board is a nForce2 mobo, exact specs (from outside the mobo box )

K7N2-L (601-6570-010)
K7, nFORCE2 SPP, MCP2, D-Bracket2, I/O Shield

and, btw.. does any1 know if this mobo has the PCI fsb fixed at 33?

bArrin said:
and, btw.. does any1 know if this mobo has the PCI fsb fixed at 33?