• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some help with CPU Temps!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dethshaft

Hey duders hows it hanging:)

I am pretty new to this computer stuff(only been doing it since June) and I got some questions. The last 3 days I have been looking at the forums nonstop and decided I had to join!

Right now I am running an Intel Pentium 4 2.4 @2.66 and my Idle temps are usually between 40-42 and my Load(after running Sandra 99 times with Multimedia benchmark on high priority) are on average around 53. I recently lapped the stock heatsink with 600/1500 grit sandpaper and I can see my beautiful face pretty nice! I also removed that wax crap and tried my hardest to apply some Arctic Silver Ceramique to the CPU which was alot harder then I thought. BTW I have 5 case fans:2 in, 2 out, and one on the side by the Radeon

Now my questions are 1) I know the Abit boards are notorious for giving out high temp readings and I have a better chance of meeting the pope then I do of Abit changing the calculations so exactly how would I go about with a thermal sensor and which should I buy (The Digi Doc looked nice). 2) How the hell do you spread the thermal compound evenly. Everyone makes it look so easy but the credit card trick was not working.

Anyways its good to be on board and I hope to learn alot here.:cool:

1) I believe that any thermal sensor will do you good. I've always liked the simplicity of a PC Nurse (just 1 or 2 LED for temp readings). But, Digi Docs work just as well. You'll want to place the sensor as close to the heat spreader as possible, but not on top of it. Also, you may want to add a little bit of thermal goop to the end of the sensor to make sure it is getting the heat.