• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fan Noise HELP NEEDED PLEASE

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AznDanBSU

WOW!! I just bought a new P4 3.0 Ghz CPU and installed it into my AsusP4P800 mobo. I booted up and was Amazed at the amount of noise coming from the Processor's Fan! (24 C room temp....) I admit that I am completely new to Intel's Fan/Heatsink/CPU combos, but it seems that this is way too much noise....drowns out all other fans, CD-RW drive, and HDD. Are the stock fan systems on the p4s really supposed to be this loud? Can i buy some alternative fan to put on top of the processor? Or is it too late now that i've applied the thermal paste that came w/ the processor....sorry that these are such amateurish questions....first time building a system that i'm going to try to overclock....all the other Systems i've built have been Athlons and i've just installed and never played around much.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I know that the best system to overlock is a 2.4c right now anyways, but i wanted to try a 3.0 because less people have done them.....might have bitten off more than i can chew, but I wont be able to figure that out unless i can figure this fan system out.

TIA to whoever replies with some useful info.

1) what size is the fan?

2)how quiet do you want?

3)how much flow do you want?

we need to know before we can help you

I am pretty sure it is a 60 mm fan. The fan is the stock fan that would come with any Pentium IV 3ghz Processor. I want a decent amount of flow, but I have two 80mm outs in the back and have a side fan and an intake in the front. I just want something that will get the job done with as little noise as possible