• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Could someone talk me through overclocking my XP2500+ with NF7 Mobo?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bunraku

Hi

My Rig is

Athlon 2500XP+ 333FSB
ABIT NF7 Mobo
1024 MB DDR400
Thermalite Volcano Heatsink Fan(currently going up to 52 Degrees max)
Radeon 9800 Pro 128 GC
Soundblaster Live 5.1 SC.

I am a completely Newbie at this so forgive any stupidness on my part as it comes naturally to me. ;)

As far as i am aware my system is running at a FSB of 166.
The CPU/FSB Ratio is 11x166 giving me 1.83Ghz.
The Ram is running at 333 though they are capable of 400.

Now i believe to get the DDR at 400 i have to have my second multiplier at 200 rather than 166.
So i could have 10x200 for 2ghz or 11x200 for 2.2ghz.
Is this correct?

If any of this is bull guys let me know?

So my questions are.

1) Is my above statement correct?
2) How high can my cheap go generally?
3) Whats the average Temperature for my chip to fry?
4) What Voltage do i change?
5 And anyone got any instructions what to do?

All advise appreciated!!!

Thanx in advance.

Your temps are on the high side for overclocking. I'd suggest upgrading your cooling to a Thermalright SK7 if you really want to overclock. Every single statement of yours is correct. You do need to run your memory at 400mhz. Change the external clock to 200mhz and set the CPU/FSB ratio to 6/6. You will probably need to drop the multiplier, because it doesn't appear that your cooling is up to the task of much more. Which Volcano is it?