• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Question for GA-8KNXP owners

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

shiver

Registered
1st off, This is my 1st time posting here. :)
It seems that my asus p4c800 mobo has sent me in search
of a new mobo. That damn thing was brand new too, it just
stopped working for no reason but that's a whole other thread.

I was considering buying the ga-8knxp but I'm really put off by the lack of a jumper to clear the cmos. What's been your experience w/ using this board and has the lack of a cmos jumper been a problem?
Not that I'm a big timer oc'r, I'm completely new to it actually,
and I thought having that jumper to clear the cmos was
very important if your pc failed to boot due to problems
associated w/ overclocking.

PS: Becareful of the ASUS p4c800 deluxe.

I've never had too big of an issue with clearing the CMOS. The one time I did go beyond the limit all I did was shut down and pop the battery out and reboot, But I also think it may have been the dual dios kicking in so I could change the old one back. I'm not exactly sure how it worked. The point is that it wouldn't boot normally, but after some jimmying it did.

Best of luck --Brent

Dooooooont buy 8knxp, i have this board and i cant get any better than 154 fsb, it is a bad overcloker.

inferno_gr said:
Dooooooont buy 8knxp, i have this board and i cant get any better than 154 fsb, it is a bad overcloker.

Dude, something's wrong w/ your board if
that's all you can get.. or maybe you're using the wrong
memory w/ it?
Cause it's supposed to be 200mhz right out of the box.

inferno_gr said:

Ill take it that you are not using one of the "C" chips. Well thats why, this board is compatible with the older 533 fsb chips, but it was designed FOR a 800FSB chip. Its either that or you got a broken board.

inferno_gr said: