• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Advice on my XP2500@3ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Foxie3a

Normal Member
Hey, PLEASE help me out here..I am buying an AMD Athlon XP 2500+ and an Asus A7n8x-dx rev 2.0. and Corsair ram. I have water cooling from Koolance, and plan on doing some serious mods to it such as supping up the 2 pumps, and using metal tubing, and adding more fans on the radiater. I know what your saying "3ghz, what a noob" but I ensure you that I will get very close if not over the 3ghz hurdle. I am not sure on if I want to go with upping the FSB or the multiple though..or both at the same time..and could you your advice on that..and also the Vcore..I have no experience with Vcore..and I will b buying a Vantec 420watt psu, so there is no problem there..and also any advice on my video card project (GF4 Ti4200 with a P4 3.2ghz heatsink and volcano fan)? I am a smart noob, and WILL appreciate all advice that you have.. :) thank you..

John(xxfoxyjohnyxx -aim)

I don't know man, they say Abit is better than Asus as far as overclocking on nForce2 goes.
They also say this RAM goes further
twinmos/ch-5 winbond pc3200
http://www.memoryx.net/gn256pc3200.html

When I was researching overclocking nVidia's, this is what I did:
http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=186090

Two schools on Vcore. Some say 1.8x is where you should stop for permanent OC due to long term degradation of maximum attainable OC. Others advise higher with water cooling.

yeah I hear wonders about Abit and overclocking, but Asus seems to be overall the best around..and I have a lot of their mobos, and so far no complaints at all..and I'm not worried about not having my same CPU for 10 years..I'd buy a new one every year if it burned out..because 3ghz is something... :)