• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Upgrade question Please!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kbird

Ive got my current system in sig, and I have around $300 to blow. I would like to purchase the IC7 and some PC3500 ram. After reading a few post on this forum it looks like my 1.6a should run with this board. Or should I buy a Radeon 9800np for $250?

Which upgrade should I do, I still have the stupid cold boot problem with my Abit Th7II at 2.4 but at 2.24 it disappears.

I run Enemy Territory, Photoshop, Corel, and Dreamweaver/Flash

Thats about all I do with my computer should I just save my money? You know how it goes I'm getting bored and have a little money but the question is now a good time to upgrade?

I'm a little new to real DDR settings so with a multiplier of 16 how high could this little 1.6a go?

Better keep your money and wait for the prescott with new socket 775 in april which will make every thing before obsolete , even the socket 478 prescott due in november .
i HAD A 1,6A running @2,4 on a th7 II like you and i upgraded the proc for a 2,4 b which run @2,8 but I can't notice any difference in every day use !

Thanks for the advice, and I will wait for next spring to do any upgrading. Maybe its time to water cool my pc.

I forgot to tell you that the last official bios th7 du solve DEFINITIVELY the problem of cold boot i had with the 43a . I waited a long time to flash it as it only go to 1,725v (about 1,65v real )and i needed 1,85v to run my P4 2,4B @3ghz but i got tired of having to boot 2 or 3 times and now it works perfectly , i can only run the P2,4 @2,8 but i can't notice the difference except on benches .

P4 2,4B@2816@1,62v+ Alpha 8942+Delta FFB0812SHE
ABIT TH7 II Bios DU + LEADTECK GF 4200 TI VIVO + 2x256 Samsung RDRAM PC800 @156x3