• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4P800: How fast can your FSB go with synchrous (1:1) overclocking?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

coughman

Registered
I'm an overclocking newbie here and I am trying to achieve 1:1 overclocking. Here's my specs:

P4P800 deluxe
P4 2.8C
Corsair XMS 3500C2 256MB x2
ATI Radeon 9700 pro
Seagate Barracuda V SATA 120GB
Kingwin KT-436 case with 5 fans
Sunon 40mm fan (for northbridge)

My best stable FSB is 209Mhz. When I go to 210Mhz Prime 95 starts to gives out errors. At 210Mhz my corsair sticks (DDR 433) are running at 420Mhz, which is well within specs.

BIOS settings:
FSB 210Mhz
DDR frequency: auto
PCI/AGP 66/33
CPU voltage: auto
memory voltage: auto
AGP: 1.5V

Any suggestions are welcome.

that is weird. you should kick the crap out of that FSB.

i also am sticking to 1:1 oc'ing with the same board so i can enable MAM. what bios version do you have? seems most people favour 1008.04 which is what i am running now- though 1009 & 1010 did not affect my oc badly just enabling MAM though.

2 x 256mb hyperxPC3200 ram @220 fsb / timings are stock
DDR frequency:400
CPU Voltage:1.525v
DDR voltage:2.65v
AGP voltage:1.5
AGP frequency: 33.33/66.66

I'm using 1010 now. I tried 1008 before and I still hit the same wall at 210Mhz.

My memory timings are stock.

When I run Prime 95 torture test, my CPU load temp is up to 56C. My motherboard can go up to 50C. I think the temps are ok right?

Finally I have figured out what's wrong. I have upped the DDR voltage to 2.6V now and I'm running smoothly at 215 FSB. My PC3500 memory is running within specs.
With the higher voltage my memory is a few degrees warmer at over 40C, hopefully that's ok.

Welcome to the forums!!!