• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

screen artifacts - cpu overheating?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wujimon

Registered
Hello.

This is my first time posting on the board, so please bear with me. I've been having some issues with my computer as of late. Lately, when I boot the computer, I get some screen artifacts ( lines horizontally across the screen ). This was getting me a bit worried and I also had the computer restart and when it booted again, I was told that it was caused by my nvidia drivers. I updated the drivers and the artifacts persisted but even more than before.

At this time, I thought something might either be wrong with my monitor or my video card. My monitor is hooked up to a KVM switch and when I switched over the my linux box running at the same refresh rate, the screen was fine with no artifacts.

At this time, I felt that something was wrong with my video card so I decided to upgrade my video card. I then replaced my old gainward geforce 2 pro/450 with an ati radeon 9600 pro 128mb ( i wanted a newer card anyways :)) So after installing the new card, I didn't notice the artifacts off the bat but then I started to see them again and this time mainly when the computer is booting up. This is leading me to believe there might be something with my processor/mobo. I ran memtest on my machine and it said the RAM was ok.

So.. based on the information above (i know, not that much) but any ideas/tests/suggestions to try and narrow down the issue? I don't really want to spend a lot of money as I feel my current setup is pretty good for my needs. Right now, my thoughts are on replacing the mobo to see if anything gets better but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Specs:
Monitor: Viewsonic G90fb
processor: AMD 1.4 Tbird @ 1398 mhz