• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help OCing a Barton 2500+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

HorizonXP

Registered
Okay guys, I need some help here, because this is my first time doing some serious OCing.
Here's what I have:

AMD 2500+ Barton Core (333mhz)
2x256mb PC3200 Kingston DDR RAM in Dual-Channel mode
Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
Retail HSF
3 case fans

Default temp as read in BIOS:
CPU - 40 - 43 C
MB - 21 C (I think)

I have it configured to run at 166mhz FSB and 11x multiplier, and the RAM's at 200Mhz Dual-Channel. Default voltage, 1.65v

Now first, is this the correct configuration? I'm coming from a P3 500 soo...

Whenever I increase the FSB to 180Mhz or higher, the system doesn't POST, and the voice says memory test failed. When I leave the FSB at 166, and raise the multiplier to 12.5x, I get it to run at 2800+, but I have to raise the voltage to 1.75 for Windows to start up... even then, it crashed a couple times, so I switched back.

So what am I doing wrong?!

First off do you know what revision motherboard you have? The rev2.0 nforce2 boards oc alot better than the earlier revisions.

When you start raising your FSB there is a couple of things you will want to verify. You want to lock your agp/pci speeds (I cannot remember the exact names of things in the a7n8x bios but there should be an option to set agp speed to 66). If you don't do this then you run the risk of corruption on your HD.