• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I just bought a K7s5a..did I ake a good choice newbie here

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

12secondjourney

I just put my first computer together I bought the ks75a pro ecs board with 1800 xp procssesor. Just want to know if made a good descion here or what. Like i said Im a newb at this building competers deal and just want to make sure i did ok for my first rig.. Also about cooling i have a prcessor fan running and two other fans going also I dont know about this whole exuast deal and itake which one should switch if any i belive they are all intake at this time.. there is one fan on the panel and ne fan in back of the computer sorry if im not making sense here.. Thanks for all your help seems like a great forum.

I think you made a good choice for your first rig, if you already got that board up and running good job, because I bought 5 of those boards and I had a hell of a time getting them running. If it wasn't one thing it was another.

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!

Welcome to the forums!!

It's a nice board, but not very overclockable. What you'll need to do is flash the bios with a custom version by cheapoman. That will give you some limited control over the Front Side Bus for overclocking. You might be able to get your 1800+ up to about 1690mhz. That's very mild for a Tbred, but its a good start.

Yeah the ECS boards are know to be CHEAP and STABLE!! Most people love them for what they are. Some don't and just think that they are bad boards. Honestly for guys like you being it's your first built I think it suits you just fine.

After a while you may wanna head over to ocworkbench.com and download the hacked bios for your board, this will enable you to overclock your board if you so desire.