• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help a poor sap Athlon Xp 1800+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

lordvr

Ahem. I'm a total newbie to overclocking. I've never over clocked my system before. But I understand if I screw around with some options in the voltage area of the bios I can over clock my computer at the risk of frying it but it should be cool provided I have adequate fueling. For my first attempt at dabbling in the mystic arts of over clocking I think I'll try to get a modest increse like +100 MHZ or something. I really need some tips on how to learn a lot more about how to optimize and any special tips for the Athon XP 1800+. I don't understand the whole big deal with the memory speed either, is the memory as important or more important than the CPU clock speed?

I know that FSB is multiplied by the multiplier to determine the CPU speed but I don't know much much else really other than what I just said. Please I beg of you, seasoned experts bequeath your almighty knowledge onto this humble and poor sap.

increasing the cpu voltage a little bit is safe, if you have adequate COOLING.

but first try and see if you can overclock just using the standard voltage.

tips on optimizing your system... read the FAQs.

memory is important, but not as important as CPU speed. So if you have to choose, take more CPU speed rather than more RAM speed.

I'd advice you to read up a bit more before overclocking. It won't take long, and there are plenty of good guides and FAQs on the subject.

I don't know whether I am a member of the "holders of the sacred OC papers" yet, but here goes:

First, we need some system specs. Like the ones in my signature, the most important are:

Power supply wattage and brand (more important than wattage)
Motherboard make and model
RAM type / number of sticks / brand