• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1.4 Ghz T-bird unlocked, or not?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FoghornLeghorn

Hiya, first post, but been lurking a while. I'm also new to OCing in practice, but I've read about it a lot over the years.

I've searched all over and can't find a definite answer to my question. That is, is my 1.4 T-bird unlocked. It seems like it ought to be from my reading, but when I change the multiplier (up or down 0.5 from 10.5), I get no post and have to reset the BIOS.

Some considerations:
I haven't had the heatsink/fan off (shipped installed), so I can't verify (can I?) for certain the processor is what I think it is. The temps are pretty good (25/37C idle; 30/<45C load) and I don't yet have the balls to pull and reattach the HS. I'm almost ready, but not quite. HS/fan is pretty generic if I remember correctly.

Mobo is a Shuttle ak31a v3.1. Current BIOS installed. Kinda flaky (floppy controller doesn't work?, BIOS hangs on a save change though changes do get saved)

I have been able to raise the FSB minimally just to explore, haven't pushed it at all.

I had a 2x 256 2100 DDR installed (Crucial and PNY), but they don't seem to like to play together anymore. The PNY runs stably by itself, haven't gotten to the Crucial yet. Don't know anything about the PNY (it was a dumb purchase). It is my second stick of Crucial, the first went bad, and it is CAS 2.5 ECC (if I remember right).

PSU is a 430 W Antec something or other (i've blown out two cheaper ones with this set up).

Video: Gainward Geforce 2 MX400. Overclocked a little, but this is a funky version with passive cooling.

I've learned a lot with this rig about the importance of quality, but it still needs to last me another year or so, which is why I've started looking into my OC options.