• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Abit NF7-S, A good buy?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

E_tron

I have been thinking about buying an ABIT NF7-S board; however I have a few questions about its features.

I noticed that the board has 3 DIMM slots with dual memory channels. I have no experiences with dual memory channels. Would it be worth it to put 2 256MB memory modules or would 1 512mb memory module using one channel do the trick? Further more, would it perform faster if the memory modules had memory chips on both sides, or memory chips on a single side (2x128 or 1x256).

The board’s main controller (I’m not too sure what to call it) has a heat sink and fan. Has anyone had any problems with the fan making unusual noises or going out all together?

Is the integrated sound half decent on this board? I see many boards have the Realtek AC97 audio chips onboard.

This will be my second Athlon based machine. I had many problems with my first one, so I want to get it right this time.

Parts I plan to buy or bought for this board:
AMD Athlon 2500+ Barton
(Memory, have not decided which configuration)
40 and 120GB Western Digital HDs
Built by ATI 9500 PRO
Zalman CNPS7000A-ALCU Pure Copper/Pure Aluminum CPU Cooler
Two Vantec Stealth 80mm case fans

NF7-S rev. 2.0 = the best board you can buy.

Dual channel memory 2 x 256

On board sound is soundstorm and its really good. Has optical.

Chipset fans are also good.

The onboard sound is real good.
And you could allways just put a Zalman heat sink on your southbridge. Nice and quiet.
I have one like this on my southbridge chipset.
zmnb47j_big.jpg

caRpetbomBer said:
The onboard sound is real good.
And you could allways just put a Zalman heat sink on your southbridge. Nice and quiet.
I have one like this on my southbridge chipset.
zmnb47j_big.jpg