• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2800+ SAFE TEMPERATURE

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

drdave69

im new to over clocking & i need to know the safe maximum temperature for a AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2800+ processor
any help would be greatly appreciated !!!

Sensors are notorious for being inaccurate. People like to have them in the low 50s but max safe under heavy load (max temp) would be about 65 celcius, I'd say. Higher than that will affect the lifespan of your CPU much more than voltage increase in itself.

They say CPU is supposed to last 10 years. So if nominal failure time is assumed to be 10 years at default voltage:

hitechjb:
A 10% increase in Vcore, would shorten the failure time to 83% of nominal failure time.
A 20% increase in Vcore, would shorten the failure time to 69% of nominal failure time.
A 30% increase in Vcore, would shorten the failure time to 59% of nominal failure time.
A 50% increase in Vcore, would shorten the failure time to 44% of nominal failure time.

thanks c627627

im really concerned because even when the processor is NOT overclocked it runs @ 55 to 60 c
overclocked @ 2.11 ghz it runs 65 to 70 c
ive read that they can safely run @ 85 to 90 c
is there any truith to this ???

They can safely run but you will reduce the lifespan of your CPU so the word safe is relative.

You should not be overclocking with retail heatsinks.
They're supposed to only cover default operating speeds adequatly.

All copper Thermalright heatsink will allow you to overclock to 2.3 and beyond with no problem and at very reasonable temperatures.

In my op, 65 c to 70 c is unacceptable.

From what I am told the newer stock heatsinks are getting better. My experience with them has been horrid though. 65c+ is unerving to me, even if its at stock settings.