• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best RAM or not?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

XtraSmiley

Registered
Note I'm putting this question in all of the different forum sections so if you guys(gals) want to answer all of these questions great, if not, just numbers 1 and 4 for here. Thanks!

Hi everyone, I'm new to overclocking and new to these forums and hope someone can help me out with these questions.

I just bought a Vapochill PE and here's what I'm buying next:

1. Abit IC7 Mobo $120 USD
2. P4c 2.8 $265
3. ENERMAX EG651P-VE(FMA). 550W $150
4. CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series,
Platinum Series (Twin Pack) 1GB(2 x 512MB) 2x(64MX64) PC-3700 With Heat Spreaders.
Specifications:
Speed 466 MHz
Organization 2 x 64M x 64
Part number: TWINX1024-3700PT $280

Here's my questions since you guys know waaaaay more than me I'm sure!

1. Is there a better mobo near the same price range that OCs well? Is it worth it to get the (g) version of this Mobo? I don't really have a LAN and I think that's the only difference right?

2. A P4c 2.4 is only $175, that's $90 cheaper than the 2.8, the 2.6 is $210. Is the headroom for OCing the same on these three? What's the better buy with price considerations?

3. The ENERMAX EG465AX-VE (W)FCA. 433W is only $100, a $50 savings. Do I need the 550 or will this work?

4. First, is this the correct BRAND/SPEED for what I'm getting? I've never OCed before and I'm not sure what RAM I need. Also for $70 more I can get this:
CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series,
(Twin Pack) 1GB(2 x 512MB) 2x(64MX64) TWINX1024-4000PT
Speed 500 MHz
Organization 2X64MX6
CAS Latency: 3-4-4-8
Memory type DDR NON-ECC
Part number: TWINX1024-4000PT Platinum Series

Is there a big difference? Should I pay the extra $70?