• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help!! Modified DRAM clock speed, now cannot edit BIOS!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BPM

I was making some minor adjustments in the BIOS today since I'm a newbie at overclocking. Here's what I did:

1. I decided to take the CPU clock up to 210 from 200 which put my 2.4 ghz CPU at 2.5 ghz. I then rebooted and went in to play BF 1942 to see if the system was stable. It was not, as the game froze as the "EA Games" intro was playing.

2. I reboot, go back into BIOS. I notice that when I upped the CPU clock, the DRAM clock got moved to 420 somehow and I have DDR 400 RAM. Soooo... I searched for the next lowest option, which was 378, and applied that instead. Re-tested, still not stable.

3. I got back into BIOS to change to all original settings. 3 seconds into the BIOS, it FREEZES!! :( :rolleyes:

Through all of this, the only changes I made were noted above. I did not change any voltages, etc.

First of all, what are my options? I cannot play the coolest game ever until I figure this problem out.

Secondly, why won't my CPU overclock just 100 mhz?
:rolleyes:

I think your RAM couldnt take the extra 10 mhz FSB and thats why it wasnt stable... its highly unlikely that your CPU wont be able to OC 100MHz....i think it could well do 400MHz even on stock cooler...
now, considering it was the RAM that coused the problem, i cant find any other explanation why it wasnt stable even with RAM underclocked, other than the fatc that some mobos have glitches with some dividers....so maybe the 5/4 divider you chose to run, was not working well on your mobo....

Now , about the random lock up in bios I dont know anything and seems weird...I'll let the PROs handle this...

hope I helped...