• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

NF7-S 2.0 won't go past 168mhz FSB?! WHY??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wazoo

Registered
Let me start by saying I'm a newbie to OC'ing but have been reading lots...

My system runs nicely with the FSB at 166mhz and a multiplier of 13.5.

However... if I try to raise my FSB past 168mhz, I get a blank screen and long beeps that repeat every 3-4 seconds or so.

Even if I lower my multiplier to 9.5, if I try going over 168mhz FSB, same problem.

I'm running my ram as 2.5-3-3-7 (I think that is the correct way to represent the settings.. :) ).

My only PCI cards are a SB Live 5.1 and a Promise FastTrak 100 RAID controller.

Any ideas??

TIA,

Wazoo

wazoo said:
Let me start by saying I'm a newbie to OC'ing but have been reading lots...

My system runs nicely with the FSB at 166mhz and a multiplier of 13.5.

However... if I try to raise my FSB past 168mhz, I get a blank screen and long beeps that repeat every 3-4 seconds or so.

Even if I lower my multiplier to 9.5, if I try going over 168mhz FSB, same problem.

I'm running my ram as 2.5-3-3-7 (I think that is the correct way to represent the settings.. :) ).

My only PCI cards are a SB Live 5.1 and a Promise FastTrak 100 RAID controller.

Any ideas??

TIA,

Wazoo

Seems that I solved my own problem and I figured I'd answer myself so if any other noobs have th same problem...

By manually setting my FSB-to-DRAM ratio to 6/5, my memory stayed locked at 333mhz and I am able to POST currently at 200mhz FSB with an 11 multiplier.

I am still perplexed, however, why my Muskin craps out at higher speeds....

Wazoo

Try 2.8v, thats basically all you can do.

Also, don't run ratios, keep it 1:1, because that'll give optimal performance for AMD systems.