• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

flash disaster, please help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sanssheriff

Registered
Hi everyone! flash disaster, please help

hi everybody i'm new here and would like to say hey to everyone here. I am also new at overclocking but am really amped about it, and I hope to make some new friends and learn about overclocking here at the oc forums. I was wondering if anyone could help me with a little problem. While flashing my a7n8x deluxe rev2.0 with the c18d1007 bios my pc rebooted before the flash utility was finished. After making a bootdisk with awdflash.exe and c18d1007.bin included, I began the process. The first thing I noticed when begining the flash was the different interface. The Awardflash utility v8.24b presented the choice of "file name to program" which I provided the file name c18d1007. The utility automatically added the .bin extension and began the flash process. As I sat there watching in anticipation and just as the flash was almost finished the pc rebooted. OH *%($. Now when i power on my pc awdbios flash utility v8.24b runs but in the dialouge box for 'message' it reads 'source file not found' and stops, not allowing any user input. My pc specs are below, also I have my pc plugged in to an UPS. I have succesfully flashed both motherboards and video cards with no problems, this is my first disaster. Any input and or advice would be greatly appreciated.

asus a7n8x deluxe rev2.0
xp 1600+ @ 1433Mhz
ATI Radeon 9700 pro
sata seagate barracuda 120Gb
running decombobulated win xp cp sp1

Last edited:
Hi my friend,

Are you sure your have the correct BIOS for your motherboard revision?

Make a clean floppy with only "c18d1006.bin" in it. Yes, it's previous version of the BIOS file. But try it. Maybe your new BIOS file corrupted.