• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

IC7-Max 3 Recommendations.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dzdncfsd

Registered
I'm in the process of building a new pc. This is way overdue since I'm currently only running a p3 600.

I picked up the following:

Abit IC7-Max 3 Mobo
CMX512-3200C2PRO (Currently only have 1 and will be adding a second)

P4 2.8 or 3.0 800fsb next week (waiting for prices to drop)
2 Raptor 10k drives Sata Raid 0
Video Card ATI 9000 (Will be upgrading in a couple of weeks to a 9800pro or 9800xt)

I'm new to overclocking and really do not want to push this thing to the point where I need extreme cooling and have to worry about the occasional crash. I want it to be extremely stable. I'll be running a Lian Li case with 4 80mm intake fans (2 front 2 side) and 3 80mm exhaust (1 top 2 rear) 4 if you count the one on the mobo. I see allot of people showing off huge oc's but I cant believe that doing this is very useful in real world performance though I could be wrong. Say I go with the 3.0 what should I expect to comfortably get out of it? Say I go with the 2.8 where should I expect to be?

System will be used for gaming, video, and photo editing (photoshop).

Appreciate the help and I hope this motherboard turns out to be as nice as I've read on these forums. Should be delivered tomorrow actually.

Of also.. If this was you and you already had the ram and board I mentioned what would you do with it? What processor? What Vid Card? etc.

I'm curious if what I'm thinking is actually the best choice in my situation.