• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Msi Neo2 Fis2r

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Prok

Hey all. I set up a system (with no intent to overclock - that has changed now!)

p2.6c
MSI Neo2 Fis2r
512 mb Corsair PC3200 Value Select (1 stick)
SATA WD360 Raptor
ATI 9600 Pro
Antec 350W power supply

I can't get the board to go over 250 mhz fsb. I changed the RAM to DDR 333 but I made no adjustments to any voltages.
Anyone have any ideas as to what I should do? I'm not sure if the board simply won't go over the 250mhz or if - being new to the oc game - I'm not doing something right. It's bios v 1.5. Has anyone been able to go higher than 250mhz?
As a result of this limit I've been thinking about switching to the Asus P4P800....
Also since I'm new to this could anyone shed light on whether or not my components will be losing lifespan at a certain point of oc'ing? From most people that I've talked with they say that as long as it's running stable the components are fine and don't really lose much lifespan.
Thanks for taking the time to read all this. I really appreciate any advice!

i hav the msi neo2 LS basically the same as yours, and i also hav a 2.6c

unfortunately, the board doesnt let you change the mem divider. if your cpu or memory becomes unstable at higher FSBs, put up the voltage a little. for cpu, i would say anything up to 1.6 is DEFINITELY fine, and will almost certainly not destroy your processor. as for how high the board can go, trust me- it can go very high. if i were you, i would keep your neo2, its a great card.
i hav a similar setup to you, but i have corsair XMS pc4000. because my mem is made to run that much higher- i can get up to like 280 FSB, higher when i get watercooling. if turning up the voltages doesnt work, getting pc4000 might help if you can afford it.