• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My New External WC setup

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

geeko

Registered
Well, I've been lurking and learning here for some time and am finally up and running.

Machine specs:
1700DLTC3 JIUHB 0310XPMW @ 2506 | 1.8Vcore | ABIT NF7-S v2 12.5x200 | 1.7Vchipset
2x256Mbyte Kingston HyperX 3000 2-2-2-6 | 2.8Vdimm
GAINWARD/CARDEXPERT GeForce 3 Ti200 64MB - Golden Sample
Western Digital 120GB HD - 7200rpm Special Edition
Antec True 480 Power Supply
External WC Box | 2 Parallel Rads | 8 - 92mm Fans | Danner Mag 3 | WW Water Block | 36c Idle, 42c load
Ambient = 21c

A few pics:
WCBOX_Outside.JPG

-------------------
WCBoxInside.JPG

-------------------
WCBoxInsideFront.JPG

-------------------
WCComputerInsideWB.JPG

-------------------
WCComputerCoverOn.JPG

This is my first try at posting images -- I hope it works.

*Sweeeet* so many fans, so smooth looking! Have you considered putting 120mm fans that push air through each heatercore and into the box on each heatercore? That would have air moving as follows:

.................... AIR COMES OUT THE TOP
.....................[/\ fans /\ fans /\ fans /\]
.....................[ | .fans | .fans | .fans | ]
..AIRFLOW --> [_______(box)_______] <-- AIR FLOW

If you can see the crummy ASCII art shows air moving into each side of the box, and then out thru the top VIA all your 80mm fans.

/\ = air flow
|

--> = air flow

I love the look of the box - really, really nice design. have fun with it!

Yeah I second what felin is saying. If you're going to be using that many fans to suck air out of the top you might as well put a couple more pushing air through the heater cores as well. I love the wooden box set up. It looks really nice!