• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with installing Windows XP on a RAID 0 array (clean install)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Black_Paladin

I am a complete newbie at setting up RAID arrays and I am pulling my hair trying to get Windows XP loaded on a RAID array.

I have an IT7 MAX2 v2.0 motherboard which supports RAID so I went into BIOS, set up a RAID 0 array, booted from the Windows XP CD, pressed F6, loaded the HPT374 drivers for RAID and I get a screen showing 2 hard disks with Windows asking me where I should install Windows.

Shouldn't Windows see only one physical device when I have a RAID 0 array configured??

As a note, the 2 hard drives (in my sig) are connected to the IDE RAID ports on the motherboard and BIOS recognizes the array I set up as a 160 GB RAID 0 array. Also, in BIOS, I have ATA133RAID selected as the second and third boot device (first device to boot from is CD so that I can boot from the Windows CD)

I tried to create 2 same sized partitions on both disks at the Windows setup screen when I'm presented with which disk and partition to use but this didn't work. Windows copies the installation files when I do that, but when I reboot, I get a "error reading from disk" error and the computer just locks up hard there.

Why doesn't Windows XP setup see my RAID array as a single 160 gig drive EVEN THOUGH I did F6 and gave it the RAID drivers???

Please help!

this sounds really strange! I have the IT7, and I did not have any of these problems.

from what you've described, I can't see anything you've done wrong. that's exactly the right procedure: create RAID array (I think it was pressing Ctrl + F to enter the setup screen...), start windows install, press F6, load the correct drivers from the floppy, then windows should see the RAID array as one disk.