• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Watercooled system number one... start to finish, bunch of pics

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tsintse

As recommended by a couple of friendly individuals I am reposting this in a more appropriate section :)

I also made this a bit more complete as far as describing what exactly I did. A little background, I have been working on computers and networks for 15+ yrs but this is my first watercooled system…looking at all the very nice ones here made me jealous heheh.

3 goals initially, looks, noise level, and size. I wanted the system to look clean while remaining quiet and restrained within the confines of a single midtower atx case. This is the case I started with :

before1.jpg

It’s an AMS G-Tower from Newegg (insert random Newegg owns comment.) Ordered it and three days later I had everything hooked up and running on my desktop to get a feel for whether or not I liked the case. I really liked the look and since the plexiglass was very thick and heavy (planning on doing some etching later) I decided to ignore a few major design problems and keep it.

I pulled everything out of the case and gathered all my loot to start assembly. We have a Swiftech MCW-5002 waterblock and MCP-600 pump, dangerden waterblock for my video card, clearflex tubing, nylon clips, evercool 120mm fan, UV reactive bay reservoir and a dtek heatercore.

parts1.jpg

First I started with the PS. I am using an Antec TP 550. I replaced the 80 and 92mm fans with a Panaflo 1A and a Papst respectively. I also sanded and painted the shell white but I didn’t grab a pic of that before I put it in the case. I moved the grill into casing as well and then sleeved all the wires.

Heres what it looks like before sleeving.

before.jpg

And after:

after.jpg