• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Question ====>please read

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yoha

Hello, I'm pretty new to wc so i bought a swiftec h2o-8501a kit
after a few weeks i wanted to change to a bigger radiator.
I bought D-tek pro radiator which is significantly bigger than my previous MCR80 Micro radiator from swiftec. With MCR80 at room temperature of 26C my idle temp is 45C. Now with D-Tek at same room temperature idle temp is 40C. I only use WC to cool my CPU. Cpu OC from 2400xp to 2.31GHZ with 11.5x200 Vcore at 1.87. I thought D-tek will drop more than just 5C any suggestions? thanks
Also setup is pump > CPU > Radiator > pump
Radiator mounted at lower front
need suggestions thanks

Wilson

wow thanks for fast reply, i'm using one fan shroud, sucking air from radiator, i'm using a 68cfm fan i bought few months ago to cool my radio car batteries during charging. the fan is all metal not sure if that will reduce airflow because of its weight. I'm doing research on a new 120mm fan. do you think the temperature is reasonable?? thanks

a 5C change is pretty good. a more powerful fan and/or shroud would almost certainly make even more of a difference.

and WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!

A push/pull shroud and fan setup could improve it also. Like Dodgeviper's:

Finish_Core1.jpg

From this thread: http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=148257

If you run your setup this way you get better results.

Pump - Rad - CPU - Return.

That way the cool water from the rad goes straight to the CPU. Might not make a big difference but you should see some.

You don't want it going to the CPU from the pump, becuase the pump does put out some heat.

The in-loop water temperature varies by a fraction of a degree... I don't see how doing that will make any difference.