• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Shroud eliminiation

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
I don't see how 2 fans in a push/pull config can eliminate a deadspot like a shroud.

Quick sketch:

shroud.jpg

Last edited:
if you stagger the fans though, they can eliminate the dead spot. It partially depends on the rad.

Listen to soja though, I have no practical experience....

The main purpose of a shroud is to utlize the entire radiator. Most of the time the radiators are 160mm^2 and the fans people are using are 120mm^2.

Do out the math and that leaves 11200mm of surface area that is not being activtly cooled.

well.... there will still be dead spot even you use a shroud and even in push and pull configuration...

just check out the pic... i have not clean my heatore core for a yr... and check out the dust pattern....

font view
dscn0402.jpg

rear view
dscn0403.jpg

open view
dscn0405.jpg

the spot with no dust could be caused by the vortex created by the fan pushing in. physics makes the air want to go to the outside, like a centerfuge. it makes me wonder if having a "push" fan really does anything signifigant, or if it's just for looks

i am nude said:
it makes me wonder if having a "push" fan really does anything signifigant, or if it's just for looks

When I added a push fan it did not help temps any. This was using panaflo M1A's at full speed. However at 7v the 2nd fan does make a big difference. They're are weak at 7v but very quiet :p