• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Has anyone...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RogueStar

Registered
ever monitored their water temp?

not a computer tech but I am an auto tech, seems to me that a heater core is overkill? seems to me that you can use a much smaller cooler

how about a thermostat? and a thermostatically switched fan? computers use 12vDC like cars I can provide details on how to wire one

and Lastly - why doesn't anyone use antifreeze? I see that you are all smart enought to use distilled water but antifreeze/COOLANT is much more efficient in thermal transfer than just plain water

So what ratio of distilled water to antifreeze would you suggest? Im using 10% antifreeze 90% distilled water currently.

Last edited:
RogueStar said:

and Lastly - why doesn't anyone use antifreeze? I see that you are all smart enought to use distilled water but antifreeze/COOLANT is much more efficient in thermal transfer than just plain water

Huh? instead of "much more" give me numbers...

mameXP,

RogueStar said:
ever monitored their water temp?

not a computer tech but I am an auto tech, seems to me that a heater core is overkill? seems to me that you can use a much smaller cooler

here:
http://www.overclockers.com/articles481/

What magical COOLANT are you talking about?
From all the data I have seen antifreeze hurts the performance in conventional watercooling.

On the issue of coolant, does anyone here use water wetter? You know, the stuff that they use in high performance racing engines to reduce the surface tension of water, and to prevent growth, and corrosion? I'm pretty sure that anti-freeze is a hell of a lot worse than water wetter.