• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Engine Ice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KILLorBE

Why have I never seen anyone mention Engine Ice?

The thermal conductivity (0.34 W/m-K) seems to be better as water (0.38 W/m-K).
It's not as toxic as antifreeze.
It's pre-mixed with de-ionized water.
It prevents corrosion.

What's wrong with this stuff?

Sorry I'm kinda new to WC'ing and I don't have a WC setup yet, but I'm sure gonna give it a try once I finished my current project...uhh and a few other projects.

BTW: If you follow the link and look in the FAQ you might find some usefull tips.

It seems to be a slightly better version of regular antifreeze.
Not really the greatest stuff to run in the loop but will do better than regular antifreeze.

this brings on a question i have about fluid, when mixing a UV dye into water, how do you prevent corrosion, doesnt water wetter and such color the water?

The UV dye, if put in correctly, should, when a UV light is shone on it, overshadow the Water Wetter by quite a bit. The WW wouldn't even be visible if you were just using a UV light, and not using a white light. Thermal conductivity isn't all there is when you are talking about cooling fluids. Another major factor, that water has a lot of, is heat capacity. Water can hold a LOT of heat.

i remember reading in the forums that deionized water is not really the greatest fluid to be using in a watercooled system because of the lack of ions in the water (?)

Ummm... That's one of the stupidest things I've heard in a while. Ions in the water don't really do anything, except conduct electricity.

AngryAlpaca said:
Ummm... That's one of the stupidest things I've heard in a while. Ions in the water don't really do anything, except conduct electricity.

we can all be nice no? ;)