• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which Ram Best for OC on p4p800

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cruze105

hey guyz im a newbie here , and i was wondering what ram is the best for overclocking on the p4p800? I recently jus purchased 3.0c intel processor from a promotion through my company at COmpUsa. And i want the best ram to overclock it with. I was planning on buy two sticks of centon 512mb pc3500 at my work for a discounted price but im not sure if are good in oc. And my second choice was buying some corsair memory off newegg.
Any suggestions?
Also would it matter if went with corsair 512mb pc3200 compared to pc3500. would the pc3500 overclock better?

Thanks guyz help a newbie out;)

Since you got a 3.0C with a high multiplier of 15. I would personally get the Mushkin PC-3500 Level 2. It's rated at 2-2-2-6 @ 217 FSB (433 DDR)

217 X 15 = 3255 MHz

If you overclock the RAM to say, 2-3-3-6, it should probably be able to do 225-230 which will give you about 3375 - 3450 MHz. (1:1) Which is pretty damn good.

If you like loose timing tho, go for some OCZ PC-4000EL "GOLD" Cas 2.5. I also heard that the Corsair PC-4000 Pro is good with manipulating timings.

I'm a low latency guy, so I'd take the Mushkin Level 2 since they're guaranteed to come with BH-5 Chips. And 217 FSB @ 2-2-2-6 @ 2.5-2.75 Volts is pretty damn good. BH-5 likes voltage so there should be plenty of headroom, especially if you relax the timings. 2-3-3-6 is heck of a lot better than 2.5-4-4-8 :)

Considering you have a 3.0C you won't really get a high FSB.

I wouldn't rely on Corsair. I was lucky and got Version 1.1 which uses (at least on mine) BH-5 Chips. Apparently the newer revisions of the Corsair PC-3500/PC-3200 uses higher latency chips. CH-5 I think?