• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is there thermal paste on my CPU?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Wightpants

Hi, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to cooling and I'd like some advice.

I recently bought a 2600 Athlon system and it's running at 50c idle and up to 75c when CPU is 100%! That's way too hot for my liking.

Admittedly I haven't added any case fans yet but the temps still seem way to high. I'm wondering what the problem might be. The CPU fan is rotating at about 3000-4000 rpm, is that normal? I was also wondering if there may not be thermal paste on the cpu/heatsink. Is that possible or would my CPU have blown by now without it?

I'm using PC Alert 4 to get the temperature and fan speed. The room temperature is pretty low. Sorry I can't provide any more info at the moment but I live away from home during the week and only have access to my PC at weekends. I'll try to find out more info if needed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
The Pants.

Your CPU is most likley ok (as in it hasn't blow). If you didn't put the HS on then there is most likley thermal tape on there... not really good but it does the job. If you plan on overclockering you should probably get a new HS (I am guessing it's stock... if not maybe not) and some Arctic silver.

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS:D

Thanks for the info CrashO,

So you think those temperatures are ok? I was a bit concerned that 75c is close to 'melting' point.

I probably will get some AS3.

I forgot to ask - If I remove the HS to see if there is any paste and there IS paste, will I spoil the 'connection'?

Thanks again'
The Pants

Generally, yes. I recommend not removing the HSF until you have at least some generic thermal grease handy for putting it back together.