• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AS3, AS5, AS Ceramique. Your choice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DoubleJ8

I have an AMD 2700+ and have an SLK-900A on the way. Which of the the greases would you guys pick for the upgrade?

P.S. Sorry for all of the questions. I'm new to this stuff and I am looking for personal opinion based knowledge with a mix of "It happened to me" thown in. I can look at specs all day long but, that tells me very little about if a product works or not.

Thanks again for all of the input.

That brings up 2 more questions:

1. Which would be better in the long haul?

2. Do you need to clean and replace the grease at time intervals like the oil in your car? How often?

I am kind of skeptical of ceramique beating AS5. I also didn't notice much of a procedure as I skimmed the article.

Which would be better in the long haul?

I would say AS5, because it's the newest.

Do you need to clean and replace the grease at time intervals like the oil in your car? How often?

No. However, some people immediately notice higher than normal temperatures, which can be fixed by re-mounting the heatsink, but once you get it right, there is no need to change it.