• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I got heat issues...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

waynebike

Ok heres my problem, i just purchased a AMD 2700+ and it is running stock @ 2.16ghz and FSB333, thats 13x166

now my problem is that i have crazy heat issues, i have a Coolermaster Areo7+ (all copper) and its idling at 45 degrees!!

i am almost positive that i put the right amount of thermal paste on, im using OCZ Thermal Compound. i put just a very thin layer on the CPU die, using my finger inside a sandwhich bag. and i smeered another thin layer on the middle of the base of the HSF.

and my motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro2. Its using NForce2 Pro 400, all latest drivers and firmware. I know ram is not an issue at all because its low-latency PC-3200 and its running at PC2700 speeds.

any ideas you have would be wonderful, im looking to overclock but i want to find out wtf im doing wrong here first and then read up on exactly what to do via the forums and the website.

btw i have 512mb of PC2100 lying around and my board is dualDDR, do you think that i would get better performance if i ran at 133mhz bus and used the dual ddr?

What are your case temps like? Could be that you need more air flow through your case.

Maybe you put too much thermal paste on. I only rub a little on the heat sink, not a layer. I only put a thin layer on the core.

Try getting more airflow in your case, and 7keys was right, make sure you only have a film of paste on your CPU. And from the reviews I've seen the Aero 7+ doesn't seem to perform that well so you shouldn't expect too much.

ok well i just redid all of the wires in my case and now the temp inside the case is only 30C, so thats fine. but the cpu is still idiling pretty high, 44 now that i redid the thermal paste with only a thin film