• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help a Intel Noob.. Best Intel Motherboard?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Suma

Hey guys,
I'm new to the Intel market, didn't have one since my old P2.
Now I'm moving back.
I need to decide on a good motherboard, ofcourse Overclocking is a main feature that I want from the new board, so as S-ata and other stuff.

My goals are to get my 2.6c to do 3900MHz = 300x13.
I need the best Motherboard on the market.

Suma.

2.6C's are bad overclockers, and are still only available with the D1 core.

If you want 3.9 then your best bet would be to get a 2.8C stepping SL6Z5, "MO" core.

You could use a 2.4C SL6Z3, but you would have to run a FSB of 325 in order to get 3.9 GHz which is unlikely. Or you can run 300 FSB with a speed of 3600.

I want FSB, 300+ is great.
Do you know where can I get that 2.4c you mentioned?
Suma.

Ok, Cool.
I'll check all the local shops for that stepping if I can't get this one localy I'll get it from azzo.com

Suma.

a lot of people have been getting lucky at zipzoomfly.com as well... youd be taking a gamble that way but itd save you $40 ;)

I'm also trying planning a new Intel system and having the same question as you Suma. I think I'll go with the AI7 at www.zipzoomfly.com for only $99. I don't know if this is true or not, but a lot of people has been saying the AI7 is a better overclocked board with higher voltage. I just like it because it's cheap and has features that I want. Hope this help.

The Asus P4P800 Deluxe is only $124.99 until tomorrow afternoon on www.newegg.com. The non-deluxe version is good too but I want firewires. You'll save about $20 with the n.d.

There are rumors about the Abit having troubles with some memories. So I'll probably go with the Asus P4P800 Deluxe.