• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

barton XP2600+ stock fan/heat sink o/c

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dillinja

hey, i'm pretty new to this so have a little patience. i dont really want to go crazy with overclocking, i just wanna get as much mhz as possible with stock parts. right now it is running at 1.5 ghz, i dunno if there is room for more? if so how do i go about doing this? im pretty familiar with bios, its just how to adjust the settings and whatnot im not too familiar with.
im running an athlon xp 2600+ (the one with the L2 cache of 512KB) also 512mb of ddram and an asus A7v8x-x motherboard. thanks in advance.

-kyle

Welcome to the Forums!:)

If you are using a 2600+ Barton and you say your Cpu speed is 1.5 Ghz then I would say you are underclocking your chip a wee bit.

A 2500+ has a stock speed of 1.8 Ghz so yours should be rated a bit higher. The mutiplier for a 2500+ is 11 and the Fsb is 166, so I guess yours should be 11.5 multi x 166 fsb stock.

If you have your manual for the board handy then take a look at chapter 2, page 15. That will explain how to make the adjustments to your multiplier/fsb.

Once you get it to run at stock speed, then you can experiment by raising the fsb a bit at a time, but watch your temeratures:)

You might want to get yourself a better heatsink as I found the stock one to be a little lousy, but you should be able to get a half decent overclock with the stock one.

Good luck
Al

Your CPU's default speed is 1913MHz (11.5 x 166). You are running it at 1.53GHz (11.5 x 133) this is like already has been said underclocking. If you have DDR333 (PC2700) or higher rated memory I suggest (if it's running async with the FSB) turning it back to 1:1 FSB:memory ratio and setting up the FSB to 166 at least to get to stock speed first.