• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

another locked 2500+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

space1ord

first off, I am very new to OC'ing

For the past few months I have been doing most of my research in these forums and decided to build my very first computer :D

with budget restraints this is what I purchased:
abit NF7
barton 2500+
corsair xms pc-2700 ... 11-3-3-2
fx5200 (i know i should have gone with ATI)
Antec true 430

The only change I have made is my memory and my FSB, I am currently at 11 * 190 and running prime95 at priority 10 (to see if stable) right now at home (i'm currently at work).

Here are my questions:

1. I am pretty sure I am about to hit my max overclock because of ram limitations. Will raising my cpu voltage help? Or should I try to get better timings with my RAM? (overclocking ram is not the most understandable thing in the world)

2. Any recommendations on RAM timings (I know this should probably be posted under Memory)

3. When I boot my post screen says something like memory mhz 308. Shouldn't this read something like 380?

I know I can increase my OC by purchasing pc-3200, however I currently don't have the fundage to go there.