• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to custom PC building

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Loboexe

OK I'm a new to this even if I have been working with computers for 27 years.

I have just put together a new system, its not earth shattering but its not bad. I run a Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro MB with an 2600+ chip.

My question is at what point should I worry about the core temp of the AMD? The spec says 80d C is its top limit, I know the cooler the better but how cool is cool.

I have the standard cooler fan and heatsync on the AMD and have fitted a case fan. The chip is running at 70d C after I whacked up the multiplier on the motherboard.

Do you experts think this is too high?

If it is what can I do about it?

Will moving the system fan around and therefore altering the airflow inside the case make a difference?

70 is WAY TOO HOT!!! 50C is just about the highest you should go. I assume your not folding or running seti.

If you take the side cover of your case off and your temps drop down quite a bit you'll need to work on your case ventilation. (after you set the multi back to stock)

If they don't then you need to check and make sure that you mounted the HSF correctly.
I hope that helps,
Rob

Well first off...

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!

..and yes 70c is WAY too hot, stick to no more than 55c when at full load for an hour or more. Also, if you plan of OCing, stock is never the way to go :). Always upgrade to a more efficient cooling appareatus (i.e. better heatsink and fan, water cooling, pelt etc). And for you case cooling you want the intake in the front bottom and side panel and exaust on the top and rear.

Like Robbie said if you take off your side cover and the temps drop, you need better air flow.