• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Chaintech ZNF3 + AMD 64 3000+ = Cooking!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KnownKiller

I just finally got the damn chaintech system hooked up with the new AMD 64 3000+ CPU. I bought the retail cuase i liked the idea of having a coper base HS and 3 year warrenty.. i have a coolermaster HS from the last Opteron 144 1.8GHz i tried before.

Anyways.. First time powering up i go right into the BIOS and check the temps to make sure the dang HS is doing its job and WOW 44C and climbing! I just sat there for a min and watched it go up to 49C! I'm like flipping out.. so i think to myself.. hmmm.. The chaintech did already have that socket HS hold down already on there for me.. I bet i was right once again.. SHould of checked those screws to make sure the damn thing was down nice and tight..

So i go to yank the heatsink off and ummm.. !@#%$@%#!!! I finally get the HS off and umm.. THE DAMN CPU IS STUCK TO IT!! OMG! NO!! And i remember reading the instructions that came with the CPU saying that you should give the heatsink a few twists left and right to break free the HS from the CPU.. but that was if ya used the TIM that was on the retail HS.. and ofcourse i took that off and used my new Artic silver Ceramique.

i guess the HS was really flat and that the AC held the CPU on there like it was crazy glue! Took the cpu off the HS and thank god no damage!. i was like in a huge panic that i just killed the damn CPU before i even got a chance to see it and that i just bought it.. but thank god all was well.. Some of the pins on one edge were leaning just a hair but it went back into the socket nice and flush like the first time.. And yes she still is kicking at this moment.