• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Considering a 2500+ ...Need some advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

lostshoe420

I'm new to the whole "building your own computer" thing, and I've been constantly reading and changing what I'm finally going to order.

Here is the tentative list: http://secure.newegg.com/app/WishHistoryReview.asp?position=HISTORY&submit=VIEW&ID=476407

Could any of you out there check that out for compatibility and whatnot...I've heard good things about overclocking the 2500+ barton (which I would like to do I guess).

Also, I was told the mobo and memory arent worth spending the money on unless i go for the processor with a 400 fsb...i was thinking overclocking the barton could solve this, i'm not sure

Thank you in advance.

Barton will most probably be multiplier locked at 11.

This is OK since PC3500 default FSB speed is about 217.

[217] x 11 = 2387 MHz

You may need to increase Vcore voltage to do this.

I would expect [200] x 11 = 2200 MHz should be no problem.

Dual 200 FSB overclock which your RAM can do easily would turn your 2500+ Barton into a 400 FSB 3200+, yes.

I'd personally go for the Abit NF7-S, I'm not sure about the ASUS mobo but I think the best FSB overclocks that people have gotten were on the NF7/NF7-S motherboards, it is also cheaper than the ASUS.
One thing about the RAM, you want to run in "Dual Channel" for that you only need 2 sticks using 3 will NOT work. So either go for 512MB (2x256) or increase to 2x512MB.