• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nero13

hi can any 1 help me im new to overclockers so bare with me,ive got a xfxkt400alh board and my chip is a xp2500 barton and im wanting to overclock it not sure if or how i can do it so can any 1 help please please

Welcome to the Forum!

I have not seen that motherboard model. Do you know who makes it or is this a pre-build system from someone like HP, Compaq, etc...?

hi the board is made by pine i think there somthing to do with nvidia anyway if u cant help me with this can u tell me what a decent board will overclock the xp2500 and iwill it be easy enough to sort

Alright. Here is a link to the manual http://www.xfxforce.com/mb/pineuserguides/KT400-ALH_UM.pdf

I see two major issues with overclocking that board:

1. The VIA KT400 chipset which controls the board is not capable of overclocking a 333MHz fsb cpu like the 2500+ Barton much beyond the stock speed.

2. Pine (or XFX) did not inclued the sort of controls needed to have a successful overclock.

An answer to this would be a new motherboard like the Abit NF7-S v2 or the ASUS A7N8X Deluxe. These are full featured boards based on nVidia's nForce2 chipset which has more overclocking capability than the KT400 chipset. If you change boards, you may also have to change memory to a higher speed rating (PC3200 or higher).

hi iff i get an asus whats to do with the board to overclock it , ive got pc2700 333 dimms will they be ok cause ive 1 gig intailed