• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

2 Qs: Cascade (SS) Q, and Heater Core Q

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JerMe

I'm new to the W/C "scene", but I've been lurking around and I think I'll be going with what a lot of people have been recommending: WW, Mag 3, T-line.

From what I've read, the wait list for a Cascade is really long, and I don't know anything about the Cascade SS (can't search "SS", too short!) So any info would be helpful there.

Also, I'm a little thrown with the heater core. Lots of people love the chevette core, but from reading around, I'm confused as to which core is the good one to use! I've read around that there are different designations with the 2-### (2-226, 2-342, etc.), and if I run to Kragen/Napa/AutoZone, I won't know which one to get if they have different ones to choose.

Or... I like Cathar's idea with the late model Camry core and Al shroud (remember this link?)... but can the Mag3 with the WW handle the flow with a core this big? And does painting the heater core decrease it's cooling performance? I wasn't sure if a coat or two would act as an insulator of sorts.

Thanks!

I dont know about the chevette thing but I can tell you yeah the list for the cascade is very long and cathar is doing his last batch of cascade ss right now. At least thats what he told me.(Im gonna have one YEAH)
TheNewGuy

The cascade ss is made out of like 99.9something% silver, and is slightly modified from the cascade design to cater to silver's properties.

From what I've heard, a mag3 would be more than enough for that setup. I've got an L30 running a WW, Maze4 gpu, dtek nb, dual 80mm radiator, and a T-line. The worst temps I'm getting are about 25c about ambient, and that's at 1.95 Vcore.