• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Peltier cooled radiator

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sir_LOIN

I'm a noob to watercooling and I'm reading all the great posts in here about about it, I'm really learning alot. I've been wanting to build a watercooling rig for some time now but I'm not sure how to go. Seems to me that a radiator only cooled by 120mm fans can't be really efficient, so I had this idea, what if it was cooled by some peltiers instead? Seems to me the water would be cooled alot more this way. Of course you have to take your dremel out and mod the radiator, but it seems possible. There also might be a condensation issue, but this can also be dealt with. But I'd like your opinion on this, maybe this is total non-sense and I should just do some more reading! lol Looking forward for your thoughts on this.

forgot to write that I was thinking of it in as an external setup...

Last edited:
Radiators with fans are much, MUCH more efficient than peltiers. A 226 watt peltier at full power will consume 364.8 watts, and may not even get you below ambient, depending on what you're cooling with it. Fans use hardly any power at all when compared to peltiers. How do you see fans as being inefficient?

Well I've been reading posts in here and some are talking about the condensation problems and the freezing sockets with their peltier setup. So I figured that when used properly they must really cool alot.

your idea would work... if you water cooled your pelts. but then you would have to use rads & fans to cool the water you were using to cool the water cooling your CPU...

long story short, peltiers dont cool themselves. and air cooling them wont be good enough.

PS. id keep a dremel FAR away from MY rad.