• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Abit Temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tn_wstlnd

Registered
I am new to overclocking, but I just built my first computer a week ago and have been doing a lot of reading on these forums. I have the NF7-S v2, 2500+ Barton, and a TR SLK-900-a with Panaflo fan cooling it. In my reading I discovered more than once people were talking about how Abit boards report the temperature 10*C higher. Is this true, even with the NF7?

I am currently overclocked to 200x11 at a vcore of 1.75 (I'm unhappy it's so high but that's the minimum voltage it was stable at). My temps are 34*C at lowest idle and 48*C at highest load, as reported by the Winbond Hardware Doctor that came with the board. That would be pretty sweet if my real temps were 24/38. Can anyone comment on this 10*C higher thing? Any help is appreciated.

Last edited:
the temps reported by the bios on the nf7-s is dependent on the bios used

the d10 bios, which was the first bios for these boards, reads the temp about 2 degrees too low, but a lot of people complained that this reading was too high, so by the time the d14 bios was released, abit recalibrated the sensor in the socket, and got it wrong big time, it tends to read 10 degreesc too low on average

the d16 bios, and all others after that afaik, are more or less spot on

you will find with that board that there are a lot of strange bios related issues, sata corruption on pre d14 bios', strange symptoms with certain multipliers and fsbs with cpu interface enabled and so on, you just have to find out what works best for you and stick with it