• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to the P4 DDR scene, quick question?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KrazyKevin

I just bought me a P4 2.8c, P4P800 deluxe and 2 x 512 Geil value PC3200 memory. This is my first attempt to o/c a ddr board/memory. On my old PC100 systems it was as simple as for instance:

PIII 700 = multiplier of 7 x FSB of 100 = 700. Raise FSB to 105 and you get 735mhz.

I'm not understanding the the ratios on my new board. I have the FSB speed and then the ratio. This is confusing me. I don't understand what the ratio does. Can someone please just give me a few examples of a 1:1 o/c vs. a 5:4 or a 3:2. It would be greatly appreciated.

Yeah I know, I need better memory. But, its gonna have to do for now. Thanks in advance.

Kevin

1:1 - 400 mhz
5:4 - 333 mhz
3:2 - 266 mhz

ur using geil, like i do, make sure u raise ur vdimm at least 2.7v

gd luck!

I still don't understand what the numbers in the ratios represent?
And also, what does this get you by using the other ratios besides 1:1?

Your new system works the same in regards to CPU speed setting:

Multiplier x FSB = CPU speed (i.e. 14 x 200 = 2800 or 2.80C)

Now with the high bus speeds on intel systems we needed some way to run the memory in spec as well. So say you own pc2700 memory which runs at a speed of 166 X 2 = 333 MHz. You need to take your FSB of 200 and switch it to 166 for the memory thus the reason for the memory ratios.

As in the PC2700 example above your CPU FSB is 200 and when you use a 5:4 ratio yor memory speed is 160 MHz:

200 / 5 = 40 X 4 = 160 x 2 = 320 = memory in spec.

If you owned pc2100 memory use the 3:2 ratio:

200 / 3 = 66 X 2 = 133 x 2 = 266 = memory in spec.