• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Errr...They Just Wont Go Away

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

neuen

Ok...I have like a couple hundred movie files and out of all of them i can only move and delete about 1/3 of them. Every time i try to move them it says they are being used. I KNOW they are not. Someone was saying how i should change my window shell but i REALLY dont want to mess with that. I have tried using wsftp - pro which didnt work.

If anyone has any ideas that would be GREAT!!

Now i'm a completely newbie to PC's so could be completely wrong, but do you have them associated with any programmes you might have running in the background and this might be causing you to get this message? Could try checking, disabling them then try deleting them(try ctrl,alt,dlt, see whats running). Just an idea i thought might be worth mentioning since your desperate :D

Lol, yes i have tried that and nothing is running that shouldnt be :)

Hmm.. I had the same problem.. Could delete some files, than after a reboot some more became avilable for deletion and so forth..

Did see a solution once, think it was related to preview? Try running explorer i details mode and see if that helps..

Boot into Safe Mode with Command Prompt. Then switch to the directory containing the files and try deleting them.

You won't need to be changing your shell or anything like that. That's crap.

WinNT-based OSes don't seem to like to delete certain files on occaision, stating that they're in use. It's happened to me a few times.

Booting into safe mode would be your best option, as all that loads in safe mode is the basics: drivers and a few things to get you going.