• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help me understanding water cooling!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

murdok5

I am a noob to water cooling.....I am currently running a 3.2EE at 3.4 on a IS7-G mobo with a 9700 pro. I would like to overclock considerably more as I do alot of video encoding and gaming. I have been looking into watercooling and want to purchase it. My case is a Lian-Li PC-65. I also ahve a floppy drive, sound card, 2 CDroms, and 2 SATA HDD, so my case is pretty full.....so here goes.....

i want to cool cpu, gpu, and chipset. i need a water block for all of these....i was thinking dangerden for all.

then i need a pump and a radiator. Im going for max cooling here.... noise isnt the top priority, so i want somethign good. do i understand this correctly--- the radiator needs to have a fan on it to help cool the water....then it goes to a resevoir....then to pump...then back to system??

do i need a resevoir? do i need to refil the water? what about transportation if i move my case is eveythign safe?

the final question is the setup....what connects to what? does teh CPU, GPU, and Chipset have to be connected in parallel or series? isnt parallel going to work better so the water is cooler at each part than in series? then teh water goes to resevoir/pump?

if anyone knows somewhere or can help explain this to me that would be great. im mostly looking for a guide or drawing to show how all my stuff would be connected....then recomendations of waht products to buy....thanks

mike

Wow, lot of questions, but you seem to understand it pretty well.

Dangerden is a good brand.

A lot of people like the Mag 3 pump because it is cheap and powerful.

You shouldn't need to refill the system. A resevoir is easier to fill the system with, but you could just use a t-line instead.