• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Slowly leaking/evaporating H20!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

USR56K

Registered
I've been running H20 for 2+ years now (same components). Before I swiched cases, I would have to refill my T-Line every ~3 months or so. Now after the move to the new case, I must refill it every month! There have NEVER been any drips in my case, so I know its not from the fittings. That leaves the radiator....

When I first built the system, I tried to put small threaded rods through the RAD (stupidly w/o pre-widing the fins). Anyways a few got slightly bent and I decided it was a bad idea and stopped. I reverted to using large zip-ties going through the rad+fan+shroud+case.

When I took the system apart in preparation for moving it to the new case, I noticed that the ends of the zip ties had dug a little into the rads fins. No noticeable moisture was detectable, so I thought it was mostly fine.

On the new setup, I used a small screwdriver to spread the Radiators fins apart so I could put a small threaded rod through it (and the ran/shroud/case). After getting the case all setup, I ran it and once again no leaks were detectable. But since a T-Line full of H20 is disappearing every month, it must be the radiator slowly leaking/evaporating it out. My only guess would be that a few fins where moved apart too much or the threaded rod has cut into some of the fine fins.

What can I do to fix this small leak/evaporation problem?

Old case
computer_h20.jpg

New Case
newcase_side.jpg

DangerDen Maze-1, Enheim 1250, The Heater Core, 1/2" tubing

Ack!! I just used Zip ties and the same thing happened to me. I am running it atm no detectable leaks but had a bad feeling and I see this thread. Hope its just paranoia.

hm..