• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Newbie question please help if you can

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kbird

Need some serious help, so please bare with me as I’m completely sleep deprived. I just bought received my Abit NFS-7 v.2, XP-M 2500+, and some PC-3500 Kingmax ram. The TH7 II and 1.6a northword finally died after a 2year 800Mhz overclock I’m a complete newb to AMD and DDR ram. My problem is should the boot screen show the MHz speed, and also say unknown CPU? Because the Bios will only allow userdefined, is that right? Also I can not get my Adaptec SCSI 29160 card and Ultrastar drive to work at all. I’m not even able to get the CD rom to become the boot drive. I turned off every intergrated peripherlal, but nothing is working. I think the SCSIs and the Serial ATA are causing my problems, but at this point I’m clueless. No sleep due to a new baby boy, who cries all night, I’m an accountant and tax season work hours are killing me. I’ve got maybe two hours a night to get this thing going but by the time I get back to the damn thing I’ve forgotten what I did the previous night. And to top it all off after removing the A drive from my second old P-3 machine and turning it back on I get these pretty blue and yellow horizontal lines, which I found out was my Geforce 4 died. So I slapped my old Radeon 7200ddr back in to the P-3 setup and all is well so far.

So to recap is my Mobile suppost to say unknown CPU, and please help me get my SCSIs working on the Abit NFS7 board?

Forgot to mention that my last boot screen reads

ESCD success
Unknow CPU
disk boot failure

something like that:(

Found one question answered about the Unknown CPU, which is yes it will read that due to the bios differences.

Please help with the SCSI boot problems.
Should I move this to storage now?

Thanks