• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A question i dont know how to ask....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MameXP

Well i'm about to re-setup my watercooling. I dont have much time try all the possible setups to see which one better. So i really need any experience from you guys.

I'm a math student so i dont have much knowledge in physics/mechanic/engineering. PLease forgive me if my questions are too noobies..

As i understand from "common sense", the flow/pressure should be decreased going from 3/8" to 1/2" areas. So should it also increase going from 1/2" to 3/8"?

I have seen an article at procooling.com explaining that the inlet of the PUMP should be as large as possible. Does it mean 1/2" tubing should always be better than 3/8" ?

If in my setup ,at anypoint, there is a reducer from 1/2" to 3/8" would that *equally* deacrease the performance?
ie. Say i have a reducer right b4 my block OR i have the reducer after the block. Would they affect the performance equally?

I'm aware of using search, but i really dont know what topic should i search for.

Thanks,
-MameXP

You get less of a pressure drop from going from smaller to larger tubing, as well as a larger pressure in the tubes but less water velocity. If you're starting with a 1/2" system, stay with it. Upgrading from 3/8 to 1/2 will only make a significant difference if you already have a large pump. Might as well not make its job any harder right?

Putting a reducer before or after the pump won't make any difference at all. You will still have the same pressure drop caused by the fitting.