• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to overclock NF7 2.0 and AMD XP 2000+...Newbie

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jkaram

I am very new at overclocking, trying to avoid frying my system. I have the following configuration:

Abit NF7 2.0
Athlon XP 2000+ Standard Heatsink and fan from retail AMD CPU
2 256MB DDR PC2100 running in dual channel mode
64MB MX440 nVidia video card.
80GB 7200PRM Maxtor 2MB cache

Current temperatures and settings:
Vcore: 1.6
DDRV: 2.64
V: 3.23
System temp: 80.6 F
CPU Temp: 101.3 F

I know I have low end components in this system, but I am trying to eek out as much as I can from this configuration.

What would be the recommended overclocking settings based on my config? I have combed the web looking for detailed info, but I am a little leary messing with the voltage settings, FSB, etc.

I ran Aquamark 03, and had a dismal 4030 score...pretty pathetic.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Your chip is running at 38.5C; is that idle or under a full load? I'm *gussing* that it's running 10 degrees (celcius) hotter when it's at full load (if it is indeed 38.5C idle.) In which case I personally wouldn't try to OC it at all. Just under 50C (fully loaded) is what I'm willing to go. Somebody want to mention what these die at? I'm thinking it is 70C (158F) but I'm not sure.

If you chip is locked I believe you can only change FSB and not the multiplier. Well, you can change the multiplier but it won't actually do anything. (I might have it backwards but I'm fairly sure I don't.) If this is the case, you're going to need faster RAM in addition to better cooling before overclocking. (And even if your chip is unlocked I still suggest faster RAM and better cooling if you want to OC it.)